Virginia and N.C. now on NY quarantine list as COVID-19 spikes

Posted at 5:45 PM, Jul 21, 2020
and last updated 2020-07-21 17:45:46-04

Residents from 31 states must now quarantine for 14 days when arriving in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut as dozens of states face rising positive COVID-19 rates.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo acknowledged Tuesday that the quarantine is “imperfect” but said the quarantine could help protect the states against the risk of increased spread.

The governor’s office said 724 COVID-19 patients were hospitalized Monday, a figure that has plunged since the virus peaked in mid-April but has declined at a much slower rate since late June.

The percentage of positive results has plateaued around one percent since mid-June, with 1.2% of 66,000 tests conducted Monday coming up positive.

In Cuomo's tweet he said "If you're traveling to NY from the following states you must self-quarantine for 14 days: AK, AL, AR, AZ, CA, DE, FL, GA, IA, ID, IN, KS, LA, MD, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, NM, NV, OH, OK, SC, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WI."