Outer Banks to reopen for visitors Saturday

Posted at 1:38 PM, May 15, 2020
and last updated 2020-05-15 13:39:29-04

DARE COUNTY, N.C. -- After being closed since mid-March, the Outer Banks will begin welcoming visitors again starting Saturday, May 16.

This includes the following towns in Dare County: Duck, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head and Manteo.

Hatteras, Roanoke, and Ocracoke islands will also open after being shut down to non-residents due to the pandemic.

North Carolina began Phase One of reopening last week.

Under Phase One, retail business are allowed to reopen at 50% capacity and residents can now leave their homes for non-essential goods and services. People can also gather outside as long as they practice social distancing and stay in groups of 10 or less.

The restrictions on non-residents visiting the Outer Banks officially end at midnight.