Outer Banks bans visitors due to virus

Posted at 2:46 PM, Mar 17, 2020
and last updated 2020-03-17 14:46:43-04

DARE COUNTY, N.C. -- Officials in Dare County have banned visitors from entering the Outer Banks.

"While there are currently no individuals who have tested positive for COVID-19 in Dare County, officials weighed the potential benefits for community health along with the tremendous impacts these restrictions have on our community," a county spokesperson said. "These restrictions may be inconvenient, disappointing and have financial impacts, however, they were made in the interest of public safety to limit the spread of COVID-19. "

Vehicles will be stopped at checkpoints and visitors will not be allowed.

"Permanent residents, non-resident property owners, and non-resident employees of Dare County businesses may review entry guidelines here," the spokesperson said. "Reentry permits from previous years will not be accepted."

"Visitors will not be allowed to travel through Dare County to access Currituck County (Corolla), Hyde County (Ocracoke Island), or Tyrrell County. People who reside, own property or work in Corolla or Ocracoke will be allowed entry."