Virginia counties eligible for Hurricane Sandy FEMA aid

Posted at 6:59 PM, Jan 04, 2013
and last updated 2013-01-04 18:59:04-05

(WTVR) — Today the Federal Emergency Management Agency announced New Kent will join parts of Virginia that could receive disaster aid following Hurricane Sandy.

The funds will come from the FEMA Public Assistance Program which reimburses state and local governments and certain private nonprofit entities for at least 75 percent of the cost of disaster related expenses.

Grants will help pay for debris removal from public roads, permanent repairs to infrastructure and taxpayer-funded facilities.  The last 25 percent comes from state and local funds.

New Kent County now makes 26 Virginia counties and 3 cities designated for Public Assistance.

The rest include, Accomack, Arlington, Clarke, Craig, Culpeper, Essex, Fauquier, Frederick, Greene, Highland, King and Queen, Lancaster, Loudoun, Madison, Mathews, Middlesex, Nelson, New Kent, Northampton, Northumberland, Prince William, Rappahannock, Shenandoah, Surry, Warren, and Westmoreland counties and the cities of Fairfax, Falls Church, and Manassas.