`A Christmas Story,’ ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’ join National Film Registry

Posted at 10:00 PM, Dec 19, 2012
and last updated 2012-12-19 22:00:55-05

(CNN) — Just in time for the seasonal TV marathons, the Library of Congress’ National Film Registry has recognized “A Christmas Story” as a cultural touchstone.

The 1983 holiday classic is one of the 25 films that will be added to the National Film Registry, which were selected because they exemplify “important cultural, artistic and historic achievements in filmmaking.”

Other beloved Hollywood productions, like 1961’s “Breakfast at Tiffany’s,” 1971’s “Dirty Harry,” 1992’s “A League of Their Own” and 1999’s “The Matrix” also made the list.

“Established by Congress in 1989, the National Film Registry spotlights the importance of preserving America’s unparalleled film heritage,” Librarian of Congress James H. Billington said in a statement. “These films are not selected as the ‘best’ American films of all time, but rather as works of enduring importance to American culture. They reflect who we are as a people and as a nation.”

To be included, a film must be at least 10 years old as well as “culturally, historically or aesthetically significant,” according to a statement. Before narrowing it down to 25 titles, the Librarian reviews hundreds of movies that have been nominated by the public, and also consults with film curators and members of the National Film Preservation Board.

An annual event, this year’s list of movies were released between 1897 and 1999, and vary from documentaries to indies to more risk-taking projects:

“3:10 to Yuma” (1957)

“Anatomy of a Murder” (1959)

“The Augustas” (1930s-1950s)

“Born Yesterday” (1950)

“Breakfast at Tiffany’s” (1961)

“A Christmas Story” (1983)

“The Corbett-Fitzsimmons Title Fight” (1897)

“Dirty Harry” (1971)

“Hours for Jerome: Parts 1 and 2” (1980-82)

“The Kidnappers Foil” (1930s-1950s)

“Kodachrome Color Motion Picture Tests” (1922)

“A League of Their Own” (1992)

“The Matrix” (1999)

“The Middleton Family at the New York World’s Fair” (1939)

“One Survivor Remembers” (1995)

“Parable” (1964)

“Samsara: Death and Rebirth in Cambodia” (1990)

“Slacker” (1991)

“Sons of the Desert” (1933)

“The Spook Who Sat by the Door” (1973)

“They Call It Pro Football” (1967)

“The Times of Harvey Milk” (1984)

“Two-Lane Blacktop” (1971)

“Uncle Tom’s Cabin” (1914)

“The Wishing Ring; An Idyll of Old England” (1914)